Online Writer’s Circles

Join a small circle of dedicated writers who will encourage, provide specific feedback, and inspire you. Your group will be facilitated by a pro-writer and mentor through an online video chat. In each session, you will:

 

  • play games and do activities that will help you develop your characters, the world of your story, and your plot.
  • share and discuss pieces of your writing project.
  • look at the writing of your peers and share what you love and what you wonder.
  • build close reading skills, and learn to discuss creative work in a way that supports another writer while also helping you to grow your own skill set.
  • discuss and explore at least one practical strategy to strengthen your writing craft.

 

 

Summer Special! Take 15% off when you register by June 1! All registrations due June 18.

Click Here to Register!

 

 

Day/Time: Various (see below for specifics)
Dates: 7 weekly sessions, Summer dates begin the week of June 25. All registrations must be received by June 18.
Min/Max Number of Writers: 3-5
Price: $40/child/hour = $280 total for 7 weekly sessions. $235 if you register by June 1!

 

Writer’s Circle (Intermediate)

Our intermediate circle is designed for writers who:

  • are ages 8-11.
  • are ready to start (or currently) working on a creative project such as a book, a play or script, or a collection of short stories.
  • enjoy reading, writing, and discussing stories.
  • are committed, motivated, and ready for a challenge.
  • See our FAQ page for more details.

 

Writer’s Circle (Advanced)

Our advanced circle is designed for writers who:

  • are ages 12-15.
  • are currently (or ready to start) working on a novel, collection of short stories, play/script, graphic novel, narrative nonfiction, or other creative work.
  • are excited to set a personal writing goal and ready to apply themselves with dedication.
  • are committed to building their overall set of writing skills and ready for a motivating challenge.
  • See our FAQ page for more details.

 Click Here to Register!

Schedule:

Please note time zones as we have mentors and writers in different areas of the country.

Intermediate Circles (ages 8-11)

Mondays (June 25, July 2, 9, 16, 23, 30, Aug 6)

  • 12:00pm ET/9:00am PT
  • 1:00pm ET/10:00am PT
  • 6:00pm ET/3:00pm PT
  • 7:00pm ET/4:00pm PT
  • 8:00pm ET/5:00pm PT

 

Tuesdays (June 26, July 3, 10, 17, 24, 31, Aug 7)

  • 12:00pm ET/9:00am PT
  • 1:00pm ET/10:00am PT
  • 6:00pm ET/3:00pm PT
  • 7:00pm ET/4:00pm PT
  • 8:00pm ET/5:00pm PT

 

Wednesdays (June 27, July 11, 18, 25, Aug 1, 8, 15)

  • 12:00pm ET/9:00am PT
  • 1:00pm ET/10:00am PT
  • 6:00pm ET/3:00pm PT
  • 7:00pm ET/4:00pm PT
  • 8:00pm ET/5:00pm PT

 

Thursdays (June 28, July 5, 12, 19, 26, Aug 2, 9)

  • 12:00pm ET/9:00am PT
  • 1:00pm ET/10:00am PT
  • 6:00pm ET/3:00pm PT
  • 7:00pm ET/4:00pm PT
  • 8:00pm ET/5:00pm PT

 

Fridays (June 29, July 6, 13, 20, 27, Aug 3, 10)

  • 12:00pm ET/9:00am PT
  • 1:00pm ET/10:00am PT
  • 6:00pm ET/3:00pm PT
  • 7:00pm ET/4:00pm PT
  • 8:00pm ET/5:00pm PT

Advanced Circles (ages 12-15)

Mondays (June 25, July 2, 9, 16, 23, 30, Aug 6)

  • 12:00pm ET/9:00am PT
  • 1:00pm ET/10:00am PT
  • 6:00pm ET/3:00pm PT
  • 7:00pm ET/4:00pm PT
  • 8:00pm ET/5:00pm PT

 

Tuesdays (June 26, July 3, 10, 17, 24, 31, Aug 7)

  • 12:00pm ET/9:00am PT
  • 1:00pm ET/10:00am PT
  • 6:00pm ET/3:00pm PT
  • 7:00pm ET/4:00pm PT
  • 8:00pm ET/5:00pm PT

 

Wednesdays (June 27, July 11, 18, 25, Aug 1, 8, 15)

  • 12:00pm ET/9:00am PT
  • 1:00pm ET/10:00am PT
  • 6:00pm ET/3:00pm PT
  • 7:00pm ET/4:00pm PT
  • 8:00pm ET/5:00pm PT

 

Thursdays (June 28, July 5, 12, 19, 26, Aug 2, 9)

  • 12:00pm ET/9:00am PT
  • 1:00pm ET/10:00am PT
  • 6:00pm ET/3:00pm PT
  • 7:00pm ET/4:00pm PT
  • 8:00pm ET/5:00pm PT

 

Fridays (June 29, July 6, 13, 20, 27, Aug 3, 10)

  • 12:00pm ET/9:00am PT
  • 1:00pm ET/10:00am PT
  • 6:00pm ET/3:00pm PT
  • 7:00pm ET/4:00pm PT
  • 8:00pm ET/5:00pm PT

 

Policy and safety information can be reviewed below:

Sample Parent Waiver
Terms & Conditions
Privacy Policy

Writer's Circles - Online writing mentorship program from Society of Young Inklings